1. How do you dream up your characters and situations? 

My ideas come up at the strangest times. Sometimes when I’m driving home from work (it’s an hour commute each way) I’ll think of something. It happens so often I bought a little audio recorder in my purse. When something hits me I pull it out and dictate my info. Then as soon as I get home I put it to Word as a summary. Sometimes I just start the story right then and there, other times I let it stew.

 

2. What are your quirks, so readers can understand you as a writer more than your advertising spiel.

 

I’m serious OCD when it comes to lists. I use OneNote to work on my books. It uses tabs and I can keep track of character info, dates, anything I want. I can even drop pictures and spreadsheets in it. I’ve got to have timelines laid out or I’ll have consistency issues. I even made a spreadsheet with columns set up like my grocery story. Now that’s pretty weird. I’ve never heard of anyone else doing that.

 

3. How do you develop your characters?

 

I’m working to better myself in my character development. I tend to leave it vague because I find myself and some other imagine a character in their head their own way. But that backfires and one critic really hated it so I’m trying to improve. I want to description them without putting too much boring descriptions. That’s a fine line.

 

4. What are you reading now?

 

A book called Sick to Death by Greg Levin, an author I’ve never heard of, but was recommended just last weekend. I am completely hooked on it. If you follow my author page, I’m sure you’ll hear about it as soon as I am finished with it.

 

5. Why do you write and what drives you?

 

Horror of all kinds. Some of mine have monsters in them and others are horrific as in real life. One story is about a woman who is carjacked and what she has to go through to survive. I love to write any kind of horror.

 

6. Who inspires you?

I don’t know that any one person inspires me. I’m not doing it for the money (it’d be nice but I still have a day job), I just love to write. If no one likes my book or story then I’m okay with that. You just have to get it out of your head.

 

7. What inspires you?

 

Being able to write whatever I want. Just because something can’t happen for real doesn’t mean I can’t write about it and won’t make a good story.

 

8. Is there a single thread/ idea/ belief which appears everything you write?

 

Survival. Whether it’s surviving a car jacking or a zombie attack. Ever since reading Island of the Blue Dolphin as a child, I’ve been hooked on any kind of survival.

 

9. What book/ story/ movie do you wish you’d written?

 

Event Horizon. Horror and Scifi mixed. What a great combination and one of my favorite movies.

10. How often do you think of an idea, but see it’s been done? What do you do?

Once in a while I do see that. If it’s been overdone then I’m not going to write about it. If it’s a vague idea that can be turned into my own direction, then I’m going for it. I have the start of a zombie book (about 10K words in) that I haven’t finished. My idea of how the zombie infection starts is completely original and I’ve never found anything close to it. But after that, it’s survival and bad humans and zombies. There are so many zombie books out there already, I’m not sure if I’ll ever finish that one.

  

http://www.facebook.com/Veronica.Smith.Author

https://www.amazon.com/author/veronicasmith

https://kvzsmithwordpresscom.wordpress.com/

https://www.wattpad.com/user/kvzsmith

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Veronica-Smith/e/B014JCZQT4

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/33407538-salvation?ac=1&from_search=true

 

 

